RSS

Slow Going…

21 Jun

I’m taking on another challenge, running a 5K. I have two months to train for a run on the 28th of August. I”m excited and nervous.

I can’t run to save my life. Its odd though, I can run all day (alright, so I might be exaggerating just a little) on the treadmill, but I can’t run for more than 2 minutes out in the real world.  I don’t know what it is. But I start going and I feel good, then all of the sudden I can’t breathe and my legs feel like I’m wading through glue. All of that in less than 2 minutes.

One might ask why then try to run a 5K? Just to prove to myself that I can. I’ve asked a friend of mine to help me train. He’s been involved in a half marathon before and even though he hasn’t been a regular runner in a while, I feel confident that with his help I will be able to cross the finish line.

I need to train with someone who won’t let me quit so easily, that will call me out when I start slacking, and yet makes me feel like I can do this.  Today will begin my own rigorous training for this event. I plan on spending a lot of time in the gym in the upcoming months (and on the road too).

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
