RSS

The Big Easy Adventure

02 Mar

An intern in my office is headed to Nola, one of my favorite cities for spring break and I’ve agreed to come up with a list of places and things to do that she should at least attempt.

I’ve been several times and I’ve only done the Bourbon Street crawl once. It was a very memorable night, Halloween 2009, which coincided with Voodoo Fest. If you’ve never been to VF, I highly recommend it. Its 3 days of incredible music, in an amazing city and the weather is finally tolerable. We were a group of 5 women and had all decided to dress as sailor girls on Halloween night and enjoy the festivities on Bourbon.

We had agreed to meet in the French Quarter and once all 5 of us were assembled it became our first experience with “paparazzi.” It was dizzying at first. I don’t think that we moved for 20 minutes because of all the pictures that were being taken, which was unfair, we needed our “Big Ass Beers” or a Hurricane or some variety of a tasty adult beverage. After we had drinks firmly in hand, the paparazzi effect became easy to deal with. The street was jovial, everyone was there to have a great time and no one was flashing out of season (at least from what I remember.)

As the intern is going there next week she will get to experience Fat Tuesday. I’m kind of jealous, but I think that I will take my Voodoo Experience and call it a day. From the war stories of friends, it seems as though Halloween on Bourbon is Mardi Gras minus all the puking frat boys. Not to say there aren’t some aspects of Mardi Gras that I would love to experience such as the costume balls, parades as rider, and other festivities that Old Orleans society participates in. That would be how I want to experience it from the front of a grand home in the Garden District. But alas I’ll dream and make a list for the intern.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 2, 2011 in Adventure

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
